The Arctic Station is located on the south coast of the Disko Island in central west Greenland (69°15'N, 53°34'W). It is thus facing the Disko Bay / Davis Strait and is characterized by an arctic, marine climate. The Station is located in a nature sanctuary, approximately 1 km west of a small town, Qeqertarsuaq (formerly Godhavn), with ca. 1100 inhabitants. The University of Copenhagen maintains and  funds the Arctic Station in order to promote Arctic research and university level education within all aspects of environmental science.